The same but different

I am still making zippered pouches, I can’t seem to stop! There’s something so appealing about small projects like this; they use small amounts of materials, and therefore don’t require a shopping trip, the pieces are easily handled, and the finished item is ready after an hour or two. And there’s something extra satisfying about making three dimensional items (to me, at least); plus, they have the illusion, at least, of being useful. How many zip purses can one person use?

With all that in mind, I tried a slightly different approach. I was lucky enough to get hold of some free offcuts of leather from an upholsterer’s shop, and decided to try making my usual pouches with that…

dav

It was quite easy to sew using a special leather needle, and I rather like it.

dav

I think I prefer this one, denim and leather though; more stylish?

dav

All in all, a success. Now I am making blocks for another quilt.

Leave a Reply

